An Unexpected Change In Plans

I just wanted to take a moment to say that while I believe character month has started off great–thanks in part to Tonia’s awesome guest post abilities–sometimes things don’t go as planned. My next guest had something unexpected arise and couldn’t make it Monday. That’s not entirely true because I have their answers, and they are witty, well thought, and a great representation of the person and their character. I had a quick debate about whether to post them or not. The problem is I don’t feel comfortable posting them knowing the circumstances. It doesn’t feel right.

Always listen to your gut.

Sometimes life has other plans for us. There are happy times and not so happy times. We as people have to carry on through both. The same can be said of our writing. We will have good days (where everything is flowing and reads exactly as we hoped), and we will have bad days (where we doubt every word on the page). It sure is easier to fix the structure of a sentence as compared to life issues. I was reminded of that recently.

So out of respect to my future guest, and friend, I’ll hold on to those character answers for a more appropriate time. If and when they are ready to descend into the slush, I hope they know the door will always be open. Just know there are people who care about you roaming the planet, even if we haven’t met face to face. You will be missed. We’ll be here if you need anything.

What does this mean for Monday’s post? Since I didn’t want to spring a guest post on another writer with only two days to prepare, I’ll be filling the slot. It seemed like the right thing to do. While I won’t pretend to know any more about characters than the next writer, I did my best to honestly answer all ten questions. I feel like a bench player on a sports team who learns they are starting the day of the big game. Hopefully I don’t drop the ball.

On Monday there will be no special guest, only me. I’ll do my best to keep things moving along. That’s what my gut tells me anyway. I hope you still drop by.

For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.”–Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

3 comments

  1. I’m always sorry to hear bad things happening to good people, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that everything works out for your friend.

    From what I’ve read of your blog so far, I believe your answers will be just as insightful and fun to read as any other writer, and I’ll be looking forward to reading them.

  2. “If and when they are ready to descend into the slush” – LOL that’s pure awesome.

    I hope that whoever it is that has recently run into the not doing so good forest finds their way out with a smile.

Share your thoughts

