Song of the Week 12/28: Every Avenue–Tell Me I’m A Wreck

This post is coming to you from deep within the editing trenches. I’ve had a bit of a breakthrough with EDEN and the push is on to get it ready before the final round of Pitch Wars. I may need a haircut. I may wander around mumbling things about characters, desperately searching for pen and paper. I may have a full blown beard. But I still brush my teeth and shower, because I’m not nasty! I may be a writing wreck, but I’m still clean and loveable. 😉

For many of us writers, our stories are like relationships. Some are better than others. The really good ones won’t let us go. EDEN has become a really good relationship for me and there isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for her. So go ahead, tell me I’m a wreck. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Through the good times, and bad, we’ve both grown and gotten closer. The only way to grow and get better is through complete honesty. Let’s face it, any relationship has its ups and downs. You work through them with honesty. I can honestly say this is the best my writing has ever been. And I’m right where I belong.

Here’s the former band Every Avenue with the awesomely awesome Tell Me I’m A Wreck. You’ll be singing along in no time. Enjoy.

For those of us who need to read the lyrics, here’s the official lyric video.

2 comments

  1. I do like that comparison about how our stories are like relationships, but then I remembered that I’m writing a novel with my sister, so I got a little weirded out. 😉

    I’m glad to hear that EDEN is coming along so well. It sounds like a great story, and I’ll be happy to see it on the shelves someday.

  2. Totally understand. My book is all I can think about. It makes being productive in any other area of life almost impossible. Even when I try and take needed breaks, it’s still got a good chunk of my mind held hostage.

    I’m glad you’ve had a breakthrough with Eden. Sometimes it can be tough to kill your darlings—especially when they point out, “Hey, if you get rid of me, then what about later when this happens? Hmmm? Hmmm?!” Well, either way, here’s to Pitch Wars changes! May they bring us to the next level in writing!

Share your thoughts

