Tax Time Means MORE BOOKS!!!

The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.”–Abraham Lincoln

Many of us are either expecting, or have received, some kind of tax refund. Some unexpected cash can be awesome news. I don’t know about anyone else, but I spent some of that cash on new books. My To Be Read pile has doubled overnight.

Here are some of my new books:

  • Shadowmarch by Tad Williams
  • Winterbirth by Brian Ruckley
  • American Gods 10th Anniversary Edition by Neil Gaiman
  • Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind
  • Stone of Tears by Terry Goodkind
  • Blood of the Fold by Terry Goodkind
  • Dead of Night by Jonathan Maberry
  • Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
  • Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett
  • Stormlord Rising by Glenda Larke
  • Stormlord’s Exile by Glenda Larke
  • Hooked: Write Fiction That Grabs Readers at Page One & Never Lets Them Go by Les Edgerton
  • The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi
  • The Dragon’s Path by Daniel Abraham
  • The Oath by Frank Peretti
  • The Devil Colony by James Rollins
  • Rage of the Dragon by Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

image

As you can see I got a lot of new fantasy, some horror, and two writing books. Quite the haul. I’ve completed The Dragonships of Vindrash trilogy (Weis, Hickman) the Stormlord trilogy (Glenda Larke), and even re-purchased two classic Stephen King books. Both of the writing books came recommended by an editor friend of mine (thanks, Courtney) and I can’t wait to see how they can help my writing.

Wizard's First RuleWhat am I reading first? I decided to read Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind. Since my latest WIP is heavy on the Fantasy, I wanted to surround myself with some. I’m about fifty pages in and liking it so far. Terry offers readers just enough description of his world and lets the reader use their imagination to supplement the rest. It’s the perfect blend, and a balance I’m still trying to find. I’m finding a good rule is to keep descriptions as short and sweet as possible so pacing isn’t hindered. My inner writer is always analyzing, even when I read for pleasure.

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it. I must soon lay it down, and commence living on its hint. What I began by reading, I must finish by acting.”–Henry David Thoreau

Has anyone else purchased new books with their tax refund? If so, what did you get?

One comment

  1. Obviously, we used most of the tax return for bills and needs…. but…. there’s a used bookstore only five minutes (walking) down the street….. so we caved. 😉 It was awesome!
    I’m definitely looking up the books you listed; the to be read list can never get too full. 😉

Share your thoughts

