Top Five Horror Movies I’d Like To See Remade

I love a good horror movie. I even like some not-so-good horror movies too. Hollywood, as we all know, loves to remake horror movies–Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween, and Evil Dead just to name a few. Sometimes they hit a home run like with the Dawn of the Dead remake. Other times–like with A Nightmare On Elm Street, Friday the 13th, and Halloween–they miss the mark. In my opinion the originals were, and always will be, superior to the remakes.

I thought it would be fun to make a short list of horror movies I’d like to see remade. What I was thinking about as I compiled this list was how dated the original feels, story potential, and legacy. Let’s face it, the more popular movies are likely to be remade because of their popularity.

Shall we get started? Feel free to throw any recommendations at me in the comments. I’d love to hear your thoughts and even see your top five.

mutant5) Mutant (also known as Night Shadows) (1984)

Zombies are still shambling along pretty well at the moment. I know, some of you are getting tired of them but I don’t think they’re going anywhere anytime soon. Mutant is a low budget film with zombie like mutants with acid for blood. It always struck me as a movie with a great premise that never lived up to its potential. The idea of being from the big city and getting stranded in a remote country town where an outbreak just happens to be starting is scary. That’s what happens to brothers Josh and Mike Cameron (played by Wings Hauser and Lee Montgomery). They discover a mutilated body with strange burn marks and report it to the local sheriff. When they go back to investigate, the body is gone and the sheriff isn’t pleased. Soon after, Mike goes missing and a young woman turns up dead leaving Josh the prime suspect. The country town has been hiding a dirty little secret and soon the mutant menace born from those secret experiments rises up. All anyone can do is try and survive the night!

Sounds good, right? This film was released in 1984 with a budget of two and a half million dollars. The special effects are terrible and the acting suspect. If ever there was movie that could be remade to be far superior to the original, this has to be on the list.

Devil-s-Rain14) Devil’s Rain (1975)

What’s not to love about a movie with devil worshipping witches that also happens to star Captain Kirk? We’re going all the way back to 1975 for this one and John Travolta’s film debut! Hot damn, this film has some impressive legacy! This movie is about a coven of witches who were betrayed by one of their own–the Preston family–who steal and keep a sacred book with the names of all the souls offered to Satan. It has been three hundred years and the leader of the coven, Jonathan Corbis (played by Ernest Borgnine), has tried to get the book back to complete his dark ritual. Bad news for the Preston boys, played by Tom Skerritt and William Shatner as the coven comes calling and manages to get their hands on the book and their family! Duhn-Duhn-Dunnnn!

Believe it or not, this film has a star studded cast. One of the major problems with this film is how dated it feels. A talented director could really breathe new life into a film like this. I don’t want to spoil the ending, but I’d venture to say you’ve never seen anything like it. This is a film I still watch from time to time for nostalgia’s sake and is still worthwhile for any horror aficionados out there. Plus, you get to see William Shatner in his heyday! Who doesn’t want to see that?

hellraiser3) Hellraiser (1987)

I may catch some slack for this one, but it’s my list and I’d like to see this film remade with a grittier, darker look and feel. Let’s face it, the acting in this film isn’t the best and other than Pinhead, the Cenobites are nothing more than set pieces. There were rumors of a potential remake, but that was years ago and news seemed to fizzle out as quickly as it surfaced. This film will always have a place in horror history and I can’t think of a sexier pick for a remake. Pinhead (played brilliantly by Doug Bradley) is one of horror’s most iconic figures. If a remake is going to work, they have to find someone as sadistic and commanding as Mr. Bradley who brings their own flavor to the role. No small task, for sure. This is the newest film on my list (1987) but I think the evolution of special effects and CG would greatly enhance a remake of this film. Hollywood, get on it already!

Upcoming Horror Movies lists this film as stalled out at the moment (as of 2011). You can read about it here: http://www.upcominghorrormovies.com/movie/hellraiser

phantasm2) Phantasm (1979)

I’m not going to lie, this is still one of my favorite horror films. When I was younger, the ending scared me, but only the ending. This is another movie with an iconic villain, in the “Tall Man.” Phantasm was released in 1979 and it shows. The premise is out there and sometimes feels like an LSD trip but horror fans never mind that one bit! The Tall Man works at the local cemetery and over the years he’s been stealing the dead bodies and sending them…somewhere, possibly another dimension. They come back as his little helpers–pint sized versions of their former selves–who help him with his nefarious task. What that task is, we don’t know. All we know is these crazies want to enslave the entire town, including 13 year old Mike who has been spying on the Tall Man. Phantasm is as unpredictable as it is good, leaving viewers wondering where they’ll end up next. The flying metal spheres are a nice touch and Angus Scrimm’s performance as the tight lipped Tall Man is superb. He rarely says two sentences, but when he does, he scares the pants off viewers. “Booooooooooyyyyyy!” As with Hellraiser, this film’s success as a remake would hinge on properly casting a new Tall Man. Advanced special effects would do wonders for a remake too. I would definitely pay to see a good remake of this film.

Demons1) Demons (1985)

We’ve made it to the number one movie I’d like to see remade and man would I throw my money at any studio who remakes Demons. I love this film. I watch it at least once a year and laugh at the corny acting. It’s fun. Anyway, Demons is an Italian horror movie release back in 1985. It tells the story of a cursed mask turns an unsuspecting movie patron into a demon whose soul purpose is to turn everyone else trapped inside the theater. Yes, the doors to the movie theater have been locked and no one can escape. Chaos ensues as people run and fight for their lives. While the acting is laughable, the concept behind the film is brilliant. We’re led to believe from the beginning that something strange is going on at the new horror movie premiere, and boy is there. Once everyone settles in for the film, the doors are locked and the demons come out. Little do the patrons know as they watch the transformation of a human into a demon onscreen, it’s happening in real life! When the first demon bursts through the movie screen, all hell literally breaks loose. I love movies where it’s a fight for survival, and Demons does not disappoint. I’ve been waiting years for someone to remake this film and I ain’t getting any younger. C’mon, Hollywood, do me a solid, will ya? FYI, the sequel is pretty awesome too.

There you have my top five horror movies I’d like to see remade. What horror movies would you like to see remade? What do you think?

6 comments

  1. I think it would take a brave soul to remake Hellraiser. I’ve never seen Mutant or Demons, but I must watch both now. Phantasm is a favorite I haven’t watched in years, but may be the genesis of the evil dude in my story. Hmm…
    Now that I think about it, Rob Zombie could do an amazing job remaking Hellraiser. I watched Lords of Salem, and would only give it three stars, but he did pulled off a remake of Halloween.

    1. Clive Barker’s book, The Hellbound Heart, is better than the movie…at least in my opinion. It would take a twisted soul to direct a remake. Oh man, some of the acting in Demons is hilarious–as in so bad it’s good. The bald headed guy ordering everyone around is my favorite. The best part is even though he dies in Demons, he’s back in a completely different role in Demons 2! Too funny! It’s definitely a fun movie to watch.

Share your thoughts

