Moving Forward

Hey everyone!

There are moments when each writer has to take a step back and honestly ask themselves what they want out of their writing. Is blogging about writing actually helping them anymore? Do they have anything meaningful to add to the conversation? Have they ever? These are a few of the questions I’ve been pondering as of late.

As you can see I’ve taken down all of the writing related posts. I don’t want to be that writer. The one who thinks their thoughts about the writing process are just as meaningful as all the “how to” books already out there. Looking back I probably should have known better. But I was so gung-ho about writing that I was blinded by my own naivety.

The thing is, it’s time to move forward. I simply don’t want to blog about the craft of writing anymore. I’m neck deep in critiques and creating fantastic works of fiction. I love where I am and the handful of great friends I’ve met along the way. Social media must be cut back in order for me to produce the quality manuscripts I aim to create.

This isn’t goodbye. I’ll still post book reviews as I finish them (I’m shooting for once a week). I’m not totally shutting Slushland down. I just won’t be around as much.

I will share one final update with all of you. BETWEEN SHADOWS AND DARKNESS is currently under consideration at two small presses. There is still some life left in that story. Meanwhile, I’m concentrating on finishing my Sci-Fi/Fantasy manuscript, THE MISTS OF CALTHAR. I’ve sent out the first 97 pages to a handful of writers/friends/readers. The response so far has been overwhelmingly positive with most commenting how they couldn’t believe they were reading a first draft. I’ve got plenty of other ideas lined up after that too. Wish me luck.

To all of my supporters I’d like to say “thank you.” I hope you’ll stick around for the book reviews. If not, it’s been a blast having you here. Take care of yourselves.

All my best,

Brian

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.”–Lao Tzu

4 comments

  1. I’m glad you’ll be posting still. 😀 It’s your blog, you can write about anything you want. Just don’t write about those you murder. You might get in a bit of trouble. Just sayin. ;D

  2. I understand that sentiment. Writing about writing, while useful, also typically attracts only writers. Other writers help build a community, but it is important to reach out to non-writers as well. Good luck with your endeavors.

Share your thoughts

