The Much Needed Thank You Post

Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.”–Princess Diana

I saved this thank you post as a stand alone post because I didn’t want the previous post to be ten miles long. AND I wanted to give each of these people the shout out they deserve.

As I’m sure any writer can tell you, no success is a solitary endeavor. We each have supporters, cheerleaders, critique partners, and I’m sure there are more adjectives I’m not remembering right now. The point is no writer sits down and publishes anything on their own. I am no exception.

There are plenty of people I need to thank. Some have been with me since the beginning. Some have been along for most of the ride thus far. Others have been around recently, while some have faded away. Each has helped me in some way.

In no particular order, I’d like to thank some folks. I hope you don’t mind.

  • My sister. She’s been with me longer than anyone else on this fantastic, crazy journey. She’s the first person who reads my materials and she’s never afraid to ask the strangest questions. Sometimes she’s brilliant. Sometimes…not so much. But I love and cherish her support.
  • Jennie Vongvith. My first critique partner! I approached Jennie as a complete stranger over the scary void that is the internet. I was so worried she would think I was a creepy weirdo that I almost didn’t ask her anything. I’m glad I did.
  • The ladies of the Hugs and Chocolate blog. They welcomed me with open arms and put up with my ramblings. We’ve been on some adventures, ladies! Hopefully we’re just getting started!
  • Jae Dansie. Jae convinced me to keep going with an earlier version of what is now known as BETWEEN SHADOWS AND DARKNESS. Thank you, Jae.
  • Daphne Shadows. The more I got to know Daphne, the more I realized we were cut from the same cloth. There are a few people who get to read my materials after my sister. She’s one of them. I see big things for Daphne in the future.
  • Tonia Marie Harris. Tonia would be included in the group of people who read my materials after my sister. In fact, I think of her as a sister. She’s someone I can talk to about almost anything. I wouldn’t be where I am without her support. Yeah, I thanked you twice, Tonia! 🙂
  • Heather L. Reid. Whenever I needed publishing industry advice, I asked two people. Heather was one of those people. I seemed to be following her fine example and have come to cherish her advice.
  • Courtney Koschel. The other person I would ask about publishing, or if I needed to vent about something publishing, would be with Courtney. I can’t wait to read her book. Her last email to me arrived with this subject line: Ahhh! How awesome is that?
  • Jani Grey. Another H & C alumni, Jani challenged me to think in different ways, which I sometimes needed. She’s wicked smart. Don’t let her tell you otherwise. I imagine every time I see a South African flag in my stats that Jani has stopped by, whether it’s true or not.
  • Jeff Long. Jeff wrote a little book, titled THE DESCENT, which inspired me to pick up a pen and write my own stories. Even though we’ve never met, I wouldn’t be a writer without Jeff’s advice that we’re all storytellers.
  • Jay Kristoff. Jay advised me to believe in myself no matter what. True, that was over twitter, but sage advice is sage advice. I’ve never forgotten those nine words, Jay. Thanks!
  • Cat Scully. Cat is a bubbly, horror loving, ball of awesome who was kind enough to read my first chapter and query letter. I can’t think of anyone who can brighten up a day quite like Cat.
  • Jolene Haley. Jolene is one of my newer friends, and also one of the best. I know if I need anything, I can ask and she’ll do her best to make whatever it is happen. I hope she knows I’d do the same for her. New Found Glory all the way home, right, Jolene? And let’s not forget our Barbaras. 😉
  • Kristen Jett. I don’t know any other ladies who love MMA like KJ. I also don’t think I know anyone as driven as KJ either. It’s always a good day when KJ is around. Her zombie short story inspired me to write one of my own which was published in The Siren’s Call e-magazine. KJ is a real life muse, ya’ll. Yes, the ya’ll was for you. Bacon, anyone? 😉
  • Mystic Cooking! Heidi and Kati have graciously helped me with queries and have supported me through Pitch Wars once upon a few years ago. They may be the YA queens. Someone should check for crowns. I’m still waiting for my dragon cuisine.
  • Deb E. Howell. How would I describe Deb? A kiwi with a heart of gold. We both share a love of music and the fantasy genre. If I’m ever in New Zealand, I’m probably going to look Deb up, but don’t tell her that. 😉
  • Sarah Hawkins. The bookish Sarah is back! Sarah is more talented than she gives herself credit for. She’s a YA aficionado who fell in love with a punk rocker. Did I also mention she’s a great person? No? Well she is. Ask her about CURSES, and then MUSTACHES. And don’t forget your pearls.

I realize I’m leaving some folks off the list. You know who you are. I can’t name everyone. I mean, I didn’t even thank my mom…or dog. You guys know how much I love my dog. Thank you to every  person who has helped me along the way, no matter how big or small the gesture. You are all appreciated.

And, lastly, thanks to YOU for reading and hanging around my little corner of the internet. Hopefully you’ll stick around to see what happens next. See you next time.

A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money.”–John Ruskin

6 comments

  1. I read that….

    You are more than welcome to catch up. I’ll show you ’round our little slice of paradise.

    That is a wonderful quote from Princess Diana. I like to believe we are seeing more and more sentiments like that and continue to believe we will one day live in a world where it is the norm.

Share your thoughts

