Book Review Status

old books

Hey, all.

You may have noticed a lack of book reviews from me lately. It’s not that I haven’t been reading. I have. It’s because I believe published authors reviewing other published authors can be a bit of a slippery slope. Rather than put my foot in my mouth or damage potential relationships with the fine folks behind the books I read, I’d rather save my reviews for the books I absolutely love. You know, the ones I need to shout from the rooftops about. I also won’t review my own books. In my opinion, that, too, is a conflict of interest.

NOTE: This is only my opinion. Other authors are free to do what they like. Who am I to judge?

But Brian, you aren’t a published author.

As of this moment, you’d be right. However, things in the publishing world happen in their due time. And while secret things may have been happening behind the scenes these past few months, I just can’t share them quite yet. As soon as I can share something, I will.

I still give the books I read stars on Goodreads. As a matter of fact, I just gave Tim Lebbon’s COLDBROOK four stars. It’s the best zombie/infected book I’ve read. You can find me on Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20451399-brian-taylor

My TBR pile keeps growing. It seems for every book I read two more pop up to take its place. They’re like zombies, or gremlins in a downpour. If you have any good horror recommendations, feel free to share in the comments below.

One comment

  1. I only do book reviews on books that blew my mind, that absolutely sparked something. I often enjoy many books I read, but I only want to review the ones that made me emotional, made me think, made me want more. I don’t know how to explain it, its just that BOOM, I loved this book – thing.

Share your thoughts

