Writing Soundtracks

Many of us write with music playing. Some of us can’t concentrate with the background noise. It’s cool either way.

There are times when I can’t write with music playing, and other times I feel like I need it. Like cocaine need it. Twitch-twitch.

Yesterday I asked Twitter if they could have one band write the soundtrack to their WIP, who would they pick?

I think it’s a great, and fun, question. One band. Ten songs.

Who would you pick? Have some fun with it and Sound off in the comments below.

Since my book is horror with some fantasy elements, I’m choosing AFI. Their newer stuff is melodic, brooding, rebellious. Plus, the lead singer, Davey Havok, was born in my home town. It’s a win-win for me.

Let’s check out the songs. To make it easy, I embedded the playlist from Spotify. You have to be logged in to Spotify to listen. If you don’t have Spotify, you can sign up for free. I’m mostly talking to you, Daphne. Yep, they have a completely free version of Spotify where you can create your own playlists and keep track of every song you like. Check it out.

3 comments

  1. My current work in progress is a light fairy talesque/period fantasy. I would pick Sarah Sleane, a Canadian singer-songwriter whose music is a mix of typical singer-songwriter music, and then Parisian cafe music. It’s a whimsical mix with gracefulness, and is great at bringing the atmosphere I need.

  2. I could NEVER pick just one band. Like, honestly. I’d implode if I tried.

    lol – I love that I click into your blog and you’re just randomly talking to me in your post. ;D I will definitely check out spotify then. I’ve had people recommend a few diff song sites like this, but I just haven’t had the time to look into any of them. Thank you! ;D

Share your thoughts

