Almost There!

Despite breaking my thumb, I’m nearly finished with my second book. You can’t keep a determined author down!

Renovations are nearly complete. Some final painting is happening today and new furniture will arrive this weekend.

I have official release dates for all three of my Black Gate Trilogy books. More to come about that a little later.

I mentioned getting some bad news in my last post and wanted to touch on it simply as a way of getting it off my chest. Someone in my immediate family was recently diagnosed with cancer. Many of my family members freaked out, but not me. I prefer to wait until the doctors run all their tests and come up with a game plan before forming an opinion. I’m not really the freaking out type. I’m more of the let’s see what’s wrong and then do whatever we can do to make things better type of guy. My glass tends to be half full.

It’s been tough finding the motivation to write some days. In the back of my mind I know deadlines don’t care what’s going on in my life. So I write on. My hope is that I bring some of that real world darkness to my fictional world. Writing has been a good release. I’m grateful.

The second book in the Black Gate Trilogy is currently approaching 83,000 words. My plan is to finish the final, epic battle scene tonight and start editing tomorrow. I’m not going to lie, it’s taken me a little longer than I would have liked. I’d rather take a little longer and get things right rather than rush through. After that, I’ll send it along to my agent and a few trusted readers. Fine tuning will likely follow before I send it off to my publisher.

Then it’s on to the third book! I plan on finishing it by July of 2015. Rest assured, things are happening behind the scenes here in Slushland. Be patient my friends. Please? I knew you’d understand.

I can’t wait to share these books with all of you. Spoiler alert: Not everyone makes it to the third book. Read into that what you will.

Expect big things from me in 2016. We’re talking Kaiju running through the city big. Broken bones, cancer, and anything else be damned!

When darkness descends…will you run, or rise?

3 comments

  1. Great to hear from you. I’m sorry for what you’re going through, even in the not freaking out, it’s hard. When my little sister had the car wreck that put her in a wheelchair, I wasn’t freaking out. I was the one my parents came to for someone to listen to their fears and hold them up a little. I know through the loss of my grandmothers and a few friends these last years what a comfort writing is.

    On a high note- so excited for all you are accomplishing. And proud.

Share your thoughts

