Permuted No More

Just a quick note of a post today.

In light of recent events surrounding Permuted Press (if you don’t know what I’m talking about try searching a few social media sites), I have decided to terminate my contract with them. While everything you’ll find isn’t true, neither is it all false. They offered authors a way out. I took it. As of today, the rights to The Black Gate Trilogy have returned back to me. I couldn’t stay locked into a contract and work for people I no longer believed in, or trusted. For me, the issue was about much more than Print On Demand. It was about business in general, the mishandling of day to day operations. I’m not going to get any more specific than that. Just know I did what I thought was best for my career, the same thing I would expect any author to do. I look forward to the challenge of finding Mitsuko a new home and making her an even bigger success than anyone thought possible. Here’s to a bigger, and better, future!

 

5 comments

  1. Seems like you made a good decision, as tough as it may be when the shiny lights of publication are on you. Good luck! Maybe a great group of enterprising authors need to work together to get their tales out to the world. Bit better than all on your own?

    1. I really think this whole mess goes a lot deeper than people think. I hope other authors sat down and looked objectively at what Permuted was offering moving forward. My agent and I have already talked about what comes next. We’re determined to turn a negative into a positive. Thanks for the support!

  2. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear this, Brian, but you’re a great writer and I know you will be just fine. Here’s to the future – keep us posted! We’ll be rooting for you and Mitsuko!

Share your thoughts

