Winter Introspection

p1010008.jpg

“You can’t get too much winter in the winter.”Robert Frost

I have a birthday coming up in December. That means I’m a winter baby. Winter in general has always been a time of year when I look inward at myself–where I am, where I want to be, how I can get there, and if I’m the person I want to be. I think it has something to do with the snow.

Even as a kid I would go outside during snow flurries and just listen to the quiet as the flakes fell. Those moments always struck me as profoundly peaceful. I felt more connected to nature during those moments than any other time of the year. Now that I’m older, I’ll take my dog out to run through the snow. He enjoys it just as much as I do. We’ll trudge a path through the soccer fields close to our home. Sometimes we’ll find a tree and I’ll throw snowballs while he chases them. Fun times.

Buck likes to sled too.

Buck likes to sled too.

For many people December brings stress over Christmas shopping, planning, and trips. We lose ourselves in the hustle and bustle of the gift giving season. Maybe, just once, we should take a moment for a little introspection. Maybe it’s with a hot beverage. Maybe you’ll go outdoors like me. However you can, find a moment of peace this holiday season, something for only you. Perhaps you’ll find a little focus and inspiration too.

As an author, mindset plays a huge part in my writing process. I’m at my best when I’m not only focused, but completely immersed in whatever story I’m creating. Winter introspection always helps bring clarity. A clear mind means crisper characters and a better flowing story. So I say, bring on the winter, the snow, and the cold. Bring on the prospect of new and exciting stories. No matter what time of year you love, find a way to be creative all year round. Perhaps you’ll find inspiration in the way a single snow flake glides toward the ground on a current of frigid air. Or, maybe, you’ll bundle up indoors. There’s no wrong way to spend the passing of winter.

As for me, I’ve got a book to finish. The sky is grey and the prospect of snow is likely. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

“In winter, I plot and plan. In spring, I move.”Henry Rollins

Just stay away from the Overlook Hotel. Wouldn’t want to end up like Jack Torrance, now would we?

2 comments

  1. Beautiful post! There’s nothing better than writing by an open fire on a cold, cloud laden, day. Can you send some snow my way? I miss the white stuff. From one December baby to another, Happy Birthday, and my your introspection bring you the clarity and focus you need to push through to the end.

Share your thoughts

