Behind the Story: Project Lupine

Wolves at the door cover

To celebrate the release of SNAFU: Wolves at the Door (Which is out today. Just sayin’!) I decided to put a little behind the scenes post together for fans of the series. I’ll do my best not to spoil things.

Why did you submit a story for Wolves at the Door?

Way back in 2014, Cohesion Press put out a call for three separate anthologies (Wolves at the Door, Blurring the Line, and SNAFU 2). Since I was busy writing my second book, I decided to pick the one I felt most passionate about and write a story as a change of pace. Writing a book can get a bit tedious. Out of the three anthologies, I obviously went with Wolves at the Door. Project Lupine was my first attempt at werewolves, so I was kind of excited to try my hand at those mythical creatures. Plus, one of my favorite films is Dog Soldiers. How could I not submit something?

Where did you find inspiration for Project Lupine?

I absolutely loved the second season of Defiance (a Science Fiction television show airing on the SyFy network). One of my favorite characters is Datak Tarr, played brilliantly by Tony Curran. I found a bunch of pictures of Tony and physically based my main character, Rolf Alfredsson, off of him. Personality wise, I knew I wanted mercenaries, or ex military who worked security, which meant a hardened soldier who maybe didn’t see eye to eye with his superiors. A soldier who wasn’t just good at what he did, but, also, smart enough to ask questions.

Tony Curran

Tony Curran

 

As with Covert Genesis, Project Lupine is a prequel of a planned novel. I can’t say much without spoiling things. Basically, I already had an idea and this is what happened “before”. Think of it as an origin story.

Fun Fact: I based the character of Sully off of Dewshane Williams, who plays Tommy LaSalle on Defiance. I don’t generally think of looks first while creating, but thought it would be fun to try something different and I think it worked out nicely.

Dewshane Williams

Dewshane Williams

 

 

How do your werewolves work?

For this story I didn’t want to go for a more traditional werewolf. Knowing that, I had to come up with something that would both make sense and also fit into the story. The answer came fairly quickly: genetic splicing. From there it was a matter of researching. Hopefully readers will like what I’ve done with a classic, and beloved horror creature. After I worked out the werewolf aspect, the story pretty much wrote itself. I’d say it took me about a week to bring all the pieces together in a way that made me happy. As you can see, I like to do a lot of planning before I write a single word.

I love that short stories give me a chance to explore stories, characters, and subject matter I probably wouldn’t otherwise. Having Project Lupine published adds to the planned novel. The origin is already out there. I can build upon, and expand that world in a longer format. As a writer and creative type, ideas are the easy part. Taking those ideas and making sense of them on the page is the hard part. Plus, I get to be published alongside established authors like James A. Moore which is never a bad thing. I’m extremely grateful to Geoff Brown and Cohesion Press for the opportunity. Thanks also go to Amanda J. Spedding for her expert eye, and edits. As always, it was a pleasure working with the entire Cohesion staff. Hopefully readers will have as much fun reading Project Lupine as I had writing it.

You can purchase SNAFU: Wolves at the Door from Amazon herehttp://www.amazon.com/SNAFU-Wolves-Door-James-Moore-ebook/dp/B00RQ56AUG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1422368528&sr=1-1&keywords=snafu+wolves

Feel free to ask any additional questions in the comments below.

3 comments

Share your thoughts

