Top Five Werewolf Movies

Wolves at the door cover

SNAFU: Wolves at the Door (Cohesion Press) is almost a week old. Aww, look how it snarls at strangers! Careful, don’t get too close. It bites!

In honor of the recent release of Wolves at the Door, I thought it would be fun to share my five favorite films featuring (say that five times fast!) werewolves. Maybe readers will understand a little more where inspiration for my short story, Project Lupine, came from. Let’s get right to it!

5) The Wolf Man (1941)

I used to love watching this one as a kid. I remember the gypsy woman warning the main character to beware and him never listening. What I enjoy most about this film is the man versus beast aspect. Plus, if not for this film, most other werewolf films wouldn’t exist. This is where the legend began.

4) The Howling (1981)

What stands out to me most about this film is the tension. The director did a great job of ratcheting it up throughout the film. And we can’t forget about that awesome ending!

3) Underworld (2003)

I know, some of you may be saying this isn’t a traditional werewolf film. For me, this film wouldn’t work without its hairy, snarling werewolf side. And, those werewolves look damn intimidating. The special effects really stand out in Underworld. The sleek look of the film works pretty well too. Underworld will always be a favorite around my house.

2) An American Werewolf in London (1981)

What can I say about this classic film that hasn’t already been said? The way the director portrayed the hunting habits of the werewolves was really well done. You believe these characters are being stalked. Leave it to some American tourists to find the one werewolf running around the British countryside! And that transformation scene is so, so good. If you love werewolves and haven’t seen this one, stop what you’re doing. Go grab a copy. Thank me later.

1) Dog Soldiers (2002)

Survival horror? Check. Stranded soldiers? Check. A pack of hungry werewolves? Check. This film has all of that, and more! Dog Soldiers was a pleasant surprise when I discovered it several years ago. It was my first encounter with director Neil Marshall (The Descent, Doomsday, Centurian) and I never looked back. What I love about this film is the isolation. These stranded soldiers really have nowhere to go and must fortify and defend…or be eviscerated. While the werewolves aren’t the best looking, they are intimidating. The cast is superb, the script/story is superb, and the director makes the most out of a limited budget to bring movie goers a rare diamond in the rough.

3 comments

Share your thoughts

