Covert Genesis the Book?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been spinning my wheels lately. There are books I’m in the middle of writing, books I’d like to write, and books I might need to write (as in the third book of my Black Gate Trilogy). I’m having trouble committing fully to a single project. Something is holding me back.

An idea hit me today. Perhaps I’m not writing the right book. The latest four star review of SNAFU: An Anthology of Military Horror on Goodreads singled out my story as one the reader particularly enjoyed. They went into SNAFU for Jonathan Maberry’s Joe Ledger short and came away with a list of new authors to read, me among them. Other readers have commented that they wished my story was longer. Not all reviewers liked my story, but that’s to be expected. One thing most reviews liked about my story, despite their overall criticisms, was the action. Pretty much every reader liked the action sequences. All of this feedback got me thinking.

Would you like to see a book set in the Covert Genesis world? Let me know either in the comments below, tweet me (@WriteBWT), or even email (which you can find in the “Contact” section of this blog). I’d love to hear from you.

To be honest, I’ve always had plans for a book set in the Covert Genesis world. A rough outline and character dossiers exist in a folder on my PC. It would follow a different set of characters initially until both plots intersect and Solomon Watkins and company show up to fight the good fight. No spoilers though. I will say the book will stick to the same survival horror themes, but will cover a more complete plot line. I’m going to take the weekend to collect my thoughts.

Just a quick note to explain why Covert Genesis was so short. As a then unknown writer I had to follow Cohesion Press’ submission guidelines. You only get so many words to tell a story and certain aspects weren’t explored fully as a result. A book would remedy that. We’re talking better character development, creature origins, and more.

People always say to give readers what they want. They also say always leave them wanting more. I’m giving you, the fans of Covert Genesis, a chance to voice your opinions and help me come to a decision. Sound off, people!

SNAFU: An Anthology of Military Horror can be purchased here: http://www.amazon.com/Snafu-Anthology-Military-Jonathan-Maberry/dp/0992558107/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423235356&sr=1-2&keywords=snafu+an+anthology+of+military+horror 

Share your thoughts

