March Update

Hello, everyone! I hope your March has started with less snow and less frigid temperatures than mine. There are snow piles at the end of my street that are almost as tall as me…and I’m 6’2″! And the cold temperatures mean they aren’t melting!!! I’m done with winter. Where’s Spring?

Things will probably be a bit more quiet on the blog in the coming months. I’ve finally picked up the pace and my third book is rapidly approaching the halfway mark. The halfway mark for me is usually 40,000 words. So, I’ll probably be busy until the first draft is done, which will hopefully be sometime around the end of March or the beginning of April.

Short story news.

The Paying the Ferryman anthology (Charon Coin Press) has been pushed back a month and will now be published in April instead of March. My short story, DEATH BLOSSOMS, will appear in the anthology. It’s my longest short, clocking in at 8,600 words. Did I mention it has killer bacon? I can’t wait to share it with all of you. Stay tuned to this space for more details as they become available.

FROM THE COLD, which was shortlisted for a different anthology, was ultimately rejected. For those of you who don’t know, being shortlisted means you made it through the initial round of submissions and the editors liked your story enough to set it aside. This particular anthology had four contracted stories from well known authors and was looking to round out the table of contents with an open call for submissions. The publisher received 1,363 submissions. 18 were shortlisted for possible publication. 7 of those stories made it into the anthology. I was close, but my story just didn’t fit in with the others in the anthology. I’ve been getting more and more of those kinds of rejections lately. You know, the “We love your story and writing style but feel it isn’t right for our anthology. We would encourage you to submit to us in the future.” Those kind of rejections are encouraging, but are still rejections.

AN UNFAMILIAR SKY is still alive and kicking. The anthology I submitted to rejects stories fairly quickly if they don’t want them. Well, I subbed my story three months ago and no rejection yet. Fingers crossed!

I should be hearing back from a magazine soon about THE BRODGAR RING in the next couple of days. I have a one percent chance of being accepted. Those are long odds. Like Han Solo said, “Never tell me the odds!” As working authors, we’ll never know if we don’t try.

Han Solo never tell me the odds gif Imgur

Even though I’ve had some success with short stories, my focus is on books. My first two books (BETWEEN SHADOWS AND DARKNESS and ENDURING DARKNESS) are with my agent. As soon as my third is completed, including a synopsis and blurb, I’ll send that along too. Then it’s on to the next book. I have several complete outlines to choose from and any one would make a great addition to my writing resume. My plan all along has been to finish two books this year. If life doesn’t throw me anymore curve-balls, that goal is going down!

To all the writers out there who are feeling down over rejection, don’t let it get to you. As long as you’re still writing and submitting, you’re making progress. With each new story you complete, the better your writing becomes. If you don’t give up, eventually you’ll get noticed. Believe in yourself.

One comment

  1. Great quote from one of my all time favorite movies! That’s exciting about your short stories, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you find many more of them in anthologies.

    As far as winter goes, send it over here! We didn’t get a winter this year, or if we did, I blinked and missed it. But I’ll keep my fingers crossed for it to be over for you guys, too.

Share your thoughts

