Don’t Forget Your Passion While Writing

Thus far, 2015 has been a ball buster of a year. A family member was diagnosed with three different kinds of cancer, the roof decided to leak, and another family member became so overwhelmed with emotion and stress that they started therapy. Real life, y’all, doesn’t stop just because you’re a writer.

Each writer has a life outside of writing. Or, at least, we should. Sometimes our lives wreak havoc on our writing routines. As for me, I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like to. But I’m not going to sugar coat things or make excuses. Words haven’t been written and it’s all my fault.

I sat down at my computer the other day and knew what I wanted to do…but just couldn’t start typing anything. There were too many distractions, too much on my mind. I’ve been doing that more and more lately. It’s not that I want to quit writing altogether. For me, writing had lost that magical feeling. It became mundane. I was going through the motions instead of creating something I loved.

That’s not the kind of writer I want to be. Ever.

It took me a while to figure things out. Outside stress and pressures were getting to me. Real world drama and drama from my writing career collided. My brain melted.

Like Austin Powers, I had lost my mojo, my passion for writing. I saw writing as a chore instead of fun. I would feel guilty about not writing, but not about writing/creating something I loved. You see, I need to feel connected to whatever I’m writing. My stories generally pull me in and get me excited. I never really saw it as genuine passion until recently.

If you don’t love what you create, why should anyone else?

Some of us are passionate about contemporary YA, others are passionate about horror, or something else entirely. It doesn’t matter where your passion lies. What matters is that we grab hold of our passions and never let go. The author who genuinely loves horror will probably write a better story than a writer who is looking to jump on a trend as a way to get noticed or paid.

Don’t forget your passion when you sit down to write. Forget the word count. Forget the stress. Let your passion be your guide. Chances are if you can harness that passion, readers will pick up on it too. The proof is in the pages.

If something is hampering your writing, don’t settle for mediocre. Take some time to discover what’s bothering you. Re-discover your passion.

I went back to a technique that helped me early on. I bought a notebook and wrote out my plans for each remaining chapter of my WIP. I would include things like an overview of what I hope to accomplish with the chapter, relevant characters, setting, and then a more detailed plot line. After a few days, I found that I wanted to write again.

Even though life still weighs heavily on me, I can write through it. My passion for this story, these characters, is a powerful driving force. I’m going to take my time and make sure I get things right. And now that I understand the importance of passion, I won’t make the same mistake again.

Have you lost your passion for writing? If so, what did you do to re-discover it?

5 comments

  1. Sucks you’ve had such a rough start to the year. I’m sorry you’re going through all of this, but happy you’ve returned to your passion. My daughters love your story in the Twice Upon a Time anthology. Love it.

    I’ve really been struggling with writing this new book after I decided to put the one I worked on for three years on hiatus. I kept writing- in my journal, even, if I could get nothing else out. Then, a friend suggested I choose a favorite book and begin typing it up. Within one chapter of this exercise, I realized I’d had my main character named all wrong at the beginning and that I was trying to force something on this particular story that didn’t belong. I still type a little of the book I chose- The Drowning Girl- and it seems to be working for me. I’m going back to absolute basics myself, writing the rough draft out by hand in cheap comp books. I love it.

    And I try to remember this corny line- “it can’t rain all the time”.

    1. Thanks of the kind words. I know I won’t ever stop writing. I hope you don’t either. Keep at it. One day everything will click. To quote an overplayed song, “Don’t stop believing.” šŸ™‚

  2. Yes! This! Right now! I keep doing this. I’ll do great for a few months then there is this lull for weeks where the desire to write is gone. Like right now.
    I just need to figure out how to find my passion again.
    Thank you! This makes so much more sense now. You are awesome.

  3. I’m sorry you’ve had such a rough time lately. I know exactly the feeling you’re talking about; I suspect it happens to ALL writers/creatives at some time or another. It’s so important to step back and remember why we do this. I call it “refueling the tank.” I’m glad you’re finding your way back!

  4. Wow, I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had such a rough year. If you need to talk or anything, you have my email.

    I’m glad you are rediscovering your passion for writing. I think it’s important during tough times to take a break. It doesn’t matter what you have passion in, writing, drawing, sports, martial arts, when times get tough, taking break may be the best thing for your career.

    I hope life gets better for you, your family, and your loved ones.

    -kt

Share your thoughts

