April Update

Another new month is upon us! Where did the previous one go? Ah, well, better get on with the update.

Book News

The new book is going…slowly. I’ve been outlining chapters by hand so I have a better idea of what to include. This one falls under the Science Fiction umbrella, which is somewhat new for me. I did write a Sci-Fi short which is under consideration for an anthology. Things are coming together and I expect significant progress this month. Experience has shown me it’s better to take my time and get things right rather than rush through and have to waste even more time trying to fix a giant mess.

No word yet on the first two books in the Black Gate Trilogy. I have to keep reminding myself to be patient.

Short Story News

I wrote 1300 words of a new story last night. This one came out of the blue, and I couldn’t be happier. I have plans for this one. More to come later. Three other shorts are under consideration for various anthologies and a magazine. Paying the Ferryman will be out soon. I turned in the first round of edits a couple of days ago. You know you did a good job when the editor says, “Your action sequences are perfect.” Minimal edits were needed. You guys/gals are going to love Death Blossoms!

Speaking of action, I turned in a guest post for Pen & Muse about writing better action scenes. I’ve been praised for how I write action by reviewers and editors so I figured I’d share a few tips. Hopefully other writers find it helpful. That should be posting sometime this month.

I’ve been thinking of doing a giveaway or two. I definitely want to give a couple of copies of the Paying the Ferryman anthology when it releases. I may also give away some copies of Wolves at the Door too. We’ll see what happens. I’ll be sure to let you know.

My goals for April are to finish the new short story and add several chapters to the new book.

That’s it for me. What are all of you up to? 

Share your thoughts

